Microcode firmwares for cpu AMD / INTEL updates

Latest shouts directly from our packagers and call for public testing MIB packages
User avatar
Alexander83
Utente
Utente
Posts: 248
Joined: 10 April 2012, 14:50
ROSA: -
OpenMandriva: -
Kernel: -
Desktop: Kde
country: Italy

Re: Microcode firmwares for cpu AMD / INTEL updates

Post by Alexander83 »

On my Pentium 4 i have this:

Code: Select all

[root@Desktop-Alex ~]# dmesg | grep microcode
[    9.593683] microcode: CPU0 sig=0xf27, pf=0x4, revision=0x27
[   11.102550] microcode: Microcode Update Driver: v2.00 <tigran@aivazian.fsnet.co.uk>, Peter Oruba
[root@Desktop-Alex ~]#
On my brother Core 2 Duo have this:

Code: Select all

[root@Desktop-Fabio ~]# dmesg | grep microcode
[    6.171190] microcode: CPU0 sig=0x10676, pf=0x1, revision=0x60b
[    6.499702] microcode: CPU1 sig=0x10676, pf=0x1, revision=0x60b
[    6.503174] microcode: Microcode Update Driver: v2.00 <tigran@aivazian.fsnet.co.uk>, Peter Oruba
[root@Desktop-Fabio ~]#
And on my notebok have this:

Code: Select all

[root@Notebook-Alex ~]# dmesg | grep microcode
[   10.020382] microcode: CPU0 sig=0x206a7, pf=0x10, revision=0x23
[   10.199483] microcode: CPU1 sig=0x206a7, pf=0x10, revision=0x23
[   10.201666] microcode: CPU2 sig=0x206a7, pf=0x10, revision=0x23
[   10.203910] microcode: CPU3 sig=0x206a7, pf=0x10, revision=0x23
[   10.206096] microcode: CPU4 sig=0x206a7, pf=0x10, revision=0x23
[   10.208350] microcode: CPU5 sig=0x206a7, pf=0x10, revision=0x23
[   10.210473] microcode: CPU6 sig=0x206a7, pf=0x10, revision=0x23
[   10.212596] microcode: CPU7 sig=0x206a7, pf=0x10, revision=0x23
[   10.214781] microcode: Microcode Update Driver: v2.00 <tigran@aivazian.fsnet.co.uk>, Peter Oruba
Thanks GvM & NicCo! 8-)
Desktop: Kubuntu 64bit
Notebook Asus X53SD-SX191V: Kubuntu 64bit
Linux 4 Ever

User avatar
promeneur
Utente senior
Utente senior
Posts: 547
Joined: 6 February 2009, 17:47
ROSA: -
OpenMandriva: 2010.3 i586
Kernel: 3.5.7 nrj dsktp pae
Desktop: MIB kde 4.8.4
country: France

Re: Microcode firmwares for cpu AMD / INTEL updates

Post by promeneur »

microcode_ctl

- at boot launches microcode driver to update the microcode

it is necessary to do that at each boot because the update is not volatil " /etc/rc.d/init.d/microcode_ctl"

- every month downloads a new version of the microcode with /usr/sbin/update-amd-microcode and ‎/etc/cron.monthly/update-microcode

the file list of the packet :

‎/etc/cron.monthly/update-microcode
‎/etc/rc.d/init.d/microcode_ctl
‎/lib/firmware/amd-ucode
‎/usr/sbin/microcode_ctl
‎/usr/sbin/update-amd-microcode
‎/usr/sbin/update-intel-microcode
‎/usr/share/man/man8/microcode_ctl.8.lzma
‎/usr/share/man/man8/update-amd-microcode.8.lzma
‎/usr/share/man/man8/update-intel-microcode.8.lzma

i have not info about to know if it is deprecated. if you have info.
Asus M2N, AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+, 8 GB, Asus Nvidia 210 silent, Linksys WMP600N, Plugable USB-BT4LE Bluetooth 4.0 Adapter, lecteur multicarte Addonics AEIDDSAU, HP LaserJet 1220

User avatar
promeneur
Utente senior
Utente senior
Posts: 547
Joined: 6 February 2009, 17:47
ROSA: -
OpenMandriva: 2010.3 i586
Kernel: 3.5.7 nrj dsktp pae
Desktop: MIB kde 4.8.4
country: France

Re: Microcode firmwares for cpu AMD / INTEL updates

Post by promeneur »

if you read the file /etc/rc.d/init.d/microcode_ctl

you see that microcode_ctl is the software that mange to update the microcode. for this it uses "microcode driver as a component)

then i assume it is not deprecated

see
*****************************************************************************************************
if [ $minor -ge 29 ]; then
gprintf "Loading AMD microcode update module\n"
/sbin/modprobe microcode
action "" /bin/true
touch /var/lock/subsys/microcode_ctl
/sbin/rmmod microcode
exit 0
fi
else
action "" /bin/true
touch /var/lock/subsys/microcode_ctl
exit 0
fi

if [ ! -e $DATAFILE ]; then
action "CPU microcode data file not present (%s)" "$DATAFILE" /bin/false
exit 1
fi

/sbin/modprobe microcode

lt=0
while [ ! -c /dev/cpu/microcode ]; do
*****************************************************************************************************
more

it seems microcode_ctl is strangely only for amd family 16 and above
see
********************************************************************************************************
start|reload|restart|force-reload)
# Intel 686 and above, AMD family 16 and above
********************************************************************************************************

then
i understand why my cpu is not updated
Asus M2N, AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+, 8 GB, Asus Nvidia 210 silent, Linksys WMP600N, Plugable USB-BT4LE Bluetooth 4.0 Adapter, lecteur multicarte Addonics AEIDDSAU, HP LaserJet 1220

User avatar
GvMariani
Collaboratore
Collaboratore
Posts: 610
Joined: 27 July 2009, 11:31
ROSA: 2016.1 Fresh R10
OpenMandriva: -
Kernel: 4.19.13-nrj-desktop
Desktop: Plasma 5
country: Italy
Location: Cologno Monzese (MI) - Italia

Re: Microcode firmwares for cpu AMD / INTEL updates

Post by GvMariani »

promeneur wrote:if you read the file /etc/rc.d/init.d/microcode_ctl
you see that microcode_ctl is the software that mange to update the microcode. for this it uses "microcode driver as a component)
[****]
then i assume it is not deprecated
[***]
it seems microcode_ctl is strangely only for amd family 16 and above
see
********************************************************************************************************
start|reload|restart|force-reload)
# Intel 686 and above, AMD family 16 and above
********************************************************************************************************
then
i understand why my cpu is not updated
Well, I still did not look at it, as you did, but I'm on a AMD fam15h CPU as I showed previously and in my system the microcode update does not need
at all the use of microcode_ctl, because it happens automagically at the boot time...
so I guess the above sw is needed only when it cannot happen (as, ie, with a CPU > fam15h: hence the limitation in the script and the *Intel* CPU).

Perhaps we will need to back-port and adjust also the microcode_ctl package...

GvM

User avatar
ninarello19
Utente
Utente
Posts: 222
Joined: 4 March 2009, 15:56
OpenMandriva: 2010.2
Kernel: 2.6.38.2-desktop-nrj
Desktop: KDE 4.5.5

Re: Microcode firmwares for cpu AMD / INTEL updates

Post by ninarello19 »

Ho installato Microcode firmwares for Cpu AMD/ Intel updates

Nel PC con Intel E6600

Code: Select all

[root@localhost utente]# modprobe microcode
[root@localhost utente]#  dmesg | grep microcode
[ 1157.745267] microcode: CPU0 sig=0x6f6, pf=0x1, revision=0xcb
[ 1157.754417] microcode: CPU1 sig=0x6f6, pf=0x1, revision=0xcb
[ 1157.755814] microcode: Microcode Update Driver: v2.00 <tigran@aivazian.fsnet.co.uk>, Peter Oruba
[root@localhost utente]# 
Nel PC con AMD Phenon x765

Code: Select all

[root@localhost utente]# dmesg | grep microcode
[   11.610297] microcode: CPU0: patch_level=0x010000c8
[   11.667097] microcode: failed to load file amd-ucode/microcode_amd.bin
[   11.667108] microcode: CPU1: patch_level=0x010000c8
[   11.667678] microcode: failed to load file amd-ucode/microcode_amd.bin
[   11.667682] microcode: CPU2: patch_level=0x010000c8
[   11.668224] microcode: failed to load file amd-ucode/microcode_amd.bin
[   11.668230] microcode: CPU3: patch_level=0x010000c8
[   11.668814] microcode: failed to load file amd-ucode/microcode_amd.bin
[   11.668853] microcode: Microcode Update Driver: v2.00 <tigran@aivazian.fsnet.co.uk>, Peter Oruba
Sembra tutto OK nel Intel, mentre sembra che c'è qualcosa che non va (non carica il module) in AMD...
ninarello19
=========
RosaDesktop.Fresh 2012.1 R1 - arch. x86_64 - KDE 4.10.4 MIB - Kernel 3.10.15-nrjQL-desktop-69rosa #1 SMP PREEMPT
O.S. alternativi su VMware workstation 10.0.0>>> Ubuntu, Windows XP Pro, Windows Seven e Mac come Macchine VIrtuali

User avatar
NicCo
Amministratore
Amministratore
Posts: 4765
Joined: 6 December 2007, 19:54

Re: Microcode firmwares for cpu AMD / INTEL updates

Post by NicCo »

ninarello19 wrote:Ho installato Microcode firmwares for Cpu AMD/ Intel updates

Sembra tutto OK nel Intel, mentre sembra che c'è qualcosa che non va (non carica il module) in AMD...
Si, è cosi,
per INTEL è tutto OK, il firmware è caricato e funzionante e già il kernel lo può usare

Code: Select all

Microcode Update Driver: v2.00 <tigran@aivazian.fsnet.co.uk>, Peter Oruba
per AMD, il modulo NON l'ha ancora caricato, ma hai provato almeno a riavviare???
riavvia, e fammi sapere!
.
--- Professional experience ---
Kernel designer, engineer, maintainer and tester for ROSA Desktop and OpenMandriva Lx O.S.

--- currently I'm playing with ---
LTS Kernels > Linux 4.1.12-nrjQL <<< Linux 3.18.17-nrjQL <<< Linux 3.14.46-nrjQL
EOL Kernels > Linux 3.19.8-nrjQL <<< Linux 3.17.8-nrjQL <<< Linux 3.15.10-nrjQL

User avatar
ninarello19
Utente
Utente
Posts: 222
Joined: 4 March 2009, 15:56
OpenMandriva: 2010.2
Kernel: 2.6.38.2-desktop-nrj
Desktop: KDE 4.5.5

Re: Microcode firmwares for cpu AMD / INTEL updates

Post by ninarello19 »

Ho esguito il tuo consiglio ho riavviato tutto sembra funzionare anche su altro computer con cpu AMD

Ecco i risultati:

Code: Select all

[root@localhost utente]# dmesg | grep microcode
[   11.497115] microcode: CPU0: patch_level=0x010000c8
[   11.533938] microcode: CPU1: patch_level=0x010000c8
[   11.534530] microcode: CPU2: patch_level=0x010000c8
[   11.535143] microcode: CPU3: patch_level=0x010000c8
[   11.535771] microcode: Microcode Update Driver: v2.00 <tigran@aivazian.fsnet.co.uk>, Peter Oruba
ninarello19
=========
RosaDesktop.Fresh 2012.1 R1 - arch. x86_64 - KDE 4.10.4 MIB - Kernel 3.10.15-nrjQL-desktop-69rosa #1 SMP PREEMPT
O.S. alternativi su VMware workstation 10.0.0>>> Ubuntu, Windows XP Pro, Windows Seven e Mac come Macchine VIrtuali

User avatar
NicCo
Amministratore
Amministratore
Posts: 4765
Joined: 6 December 2007, 19:54

Re: Microcode firmwares for cpu AMD / INTEL updates

Post by NicCo »

ninarello19 wrote:Ho esguito il tuo consiglio ho riavviato tutto sembra funzionare anche su altro computer con cpu AMD
Ok, bene, ti funziona anche su AMD adesso!

lo stai usando

Code: Select all

Microcode Update Driver: v2.00 <tigran@aivazian.fsnet.co.uk>, Peter Oruba
Sembra dunque che per INTEL non occorra riavvio, mentre per AMD occorra sempre almeno un riavvio...
.
--- Professional experience ---
Kernel designer, engineer, maintainer and tester for ROSA Desktop and OpenMandriva Lx O.S.

--- currently I'm playing with ---
LTS Kernels > Linux 4.1.12-nrjQL <<< Linux 3.18.17-nrjQL <<< Linux 3.14.46-nrjQL
EOL Kernels > Linux 3.19.8-nrjQL <<< Linux 3.17.8-nrjQL <<< Linux 3.15.10-nrjQL

User avatar
vmalav
Utente
Utente
Posts: 133
Joined: 7 December 2007, 20:26
OpenMandriva: 2010.2
Kernel: 3.2.18nrj 64
Desktop: kde 4.8.3
country: ita

Re: Microcode firmwares for cpu AMD / INTEL updates

Post by vmalav »

su AMD X64 x 2 4200 non c'è verso i messaggi sono quelli (invalid argument per modprobe microcode e CPU fam 15 not supported)
se riavvio dmesg, non da niente segno che non carica il modulo
a me non funziona
2010.2 x86_64 athlon 64x2 4200+ ram 4G nvidia 6200 256M

User avatar
NicCo
Amministratore
Amministratore
Posts: 4765
Joined: 6 December 2007, 19:54

Re: Microcode firmwares for cpu AMD / INTEL updates

Post by NicCo »

In teoria dovrebbero essere supportate tutte le cpu AMD appartenenti alle famiglie da 10 a 15,
ma con la famiglia 15 qualcosa non va, o non si scompatta o ci sono problemi di path, dobbiamo indagare...
.
--- Professional experience ---
Kernel designer, engineer, maintainer and tester for ROSA Desktop and OpenMandriva Lx O.S.

--- currently I'm playing with ---
LTS Kernels > Linux 4.1.12-nrjQL <<< Linux 3.18.17-nrjQL <<< Linux 3.14.46-nrjQL
EOL Kernels > Linux 3.19.8-nrjQL <<< Linux 3.17.8-nrjQL <<< Linux 3.15.10-nrjQL

User avatar
GvMariani
Collaboratore
Collaboratore
Posts: 610
Joined: 27 July 2009, 11:31
ROSA: 2016.1 Fresh R10
OpenMandriva: -
Kernel: 4.19.13-nrj-desktop
Desktop: Plasma 5
country: Italy
Location: Cologno Monzese (MI) - Italia

Re: Microcode firmwares for cpu AMD / INTEL updates

Post by GvMariani »

vmalav wrote:su AMD X64 x 2 4200 non c'è verso i messaggi sono quelli (invalid argument per modprobe microcode e CPU fam 15 not supported)
se riavvio dmesg, non da niente segno che non carica il modulo
a me non funziona
Cosa ti dice il buon cpuid nella sezione sulla version info (1/eax slot dell'output)?

A me, con un Phenom II X4 810 (una fam 15h, quindi) funziona perfettamente (v. il mio precedente messaggio a promeneur)...

GvM

User avatar
promeneur
Utente senior
Utente senior
Posts: 547
Joined: 6 February 2009, 17:47
ROSA: -
OpenMandriva: 2010.3 i586
Kernel: 3.5.7 nrj dsktp pae
Desktop: MIB kde 4.8.4
country: France

Re: Microcode firmwares for cpu AMD / INTEL updates

Post by promeneur »

@Nicco
I would verify that:
1) the microcode_amd*.bin files are in their right place (/lib/firmware/amd-ucode)
2) my CPU is supported: what does say cpuid in the version information (1/eax) slot?
1. yes

2.
there is no "version information(1/eax)

Code: Select all

[root@localhost ~]# cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : AuthenticAMD
cpu family      : 15
model           : 107
model name      : AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5000+
stepping        : 2
cpu MHz         : 2600.000
cache size      : 512 KB
physical id     : 0
siblings        : 2
core id         : 0
cpu cores       : 2
apicid          : 0
initial apicid  : 0
fdiv_bug        : no
hlt_bug         : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 1
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow extd_apicid pni cx16 lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy 3dnowprefetch lbrv
bogomips        : 5223.96
clflush size    : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes   : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts fid vid ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps

processor       : 1
vendor_id       : AuthenticAMD
cpu family      : 15
model           : 107
model name      : AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5000+
stepping        : 2
cpu MHz         : 2600.000
cache size      : 512 KB
physical id     : 0
siblings        : 2
core id         : 1
cpu cores       : 2
apicid          : 1
initial apicid  : 1
fdiv_bug        : no
hlt_bug         : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 1
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow extd_apicid pni cx16 lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy 3dnowprefetch lbrv
bogomips        : 5223.96
clflush size    : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes   : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts fid vid ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps

[root@localhost ~]# 
Asus M2N, AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+, 8 GB, Asus Nvidia 210 silent, Linksys WMP600N, Plugable USB-BT4LE Bluetooth 4.0 Adapter, lecteur multicarte Addonics AEIDDSAU, HP LaserJet 1220

User avatar
GvMariani
Collaboratore
Collaboratore
Posts: 610
Joined: 27 July 2009, 11:31
ROSA: 2016.1 Fresh R10
OpenMandriva: -
Kernel: 4.19.13-nrj-desktop
Desktop: Plasma 5
country: Italy
Location: Cologno Monzese (MI) - Italia

Re: Microcode firmwares for cpu AMD / INTEL updates

Post by GvMariani »

promeneur wrote: 2.
there is no "version information(1/eax)
Yes, you looked directly to /proc/cpuinfo, while I was using /usr/bin/cpuid:
same result, however...
the CPU should be supported out-of-the-box from a recent kernel (I tried 3.4.x and 3.5.x).
Perhaps are you on something other kernel version?

GvM

User avatar
promeneur
Utente senior
Utente senior
Posts: 547
Joined: 6 February 2009, 17:47
ROSA: -
OpenMandriva: 2010.3 i586
Kernel: 3.5.7 nrj dsktp pae
Desktop: MIB kde 4.8.4
country: France

Re: Microcode firmwares for cpu AMD / INTEL updates

Post by promeneur »

i use 3.2.27

i will try 3.4.x
Asus M2N, AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+, 8 GB, Asus Nvidia 210 silent, Linksys WMP600N, Plugable USB-BT4LE Bluetooth 4.0 Adapter, lecteur multicarte Addonics AEIDDSAU, HP LaserJet 1220

User avatar
vmalav
Utente
Utente
Posts: 133
Joined: 7 December 2007, 20:26
OpenMandriva: 2010.2
Kernel: 3.2.18nrj 64
Desktop: kde 4.8.3
country: ita

Re: Microcode firmwares for cpu AMD / INTEL updates

Post by vmalav »

Code: Select all

[nanni@localhost ~]$ uname -a
Linux localhost.localdomain 3.4.7-nrj-desktop-1mib #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Aug 13 11:26:19 CEST 2012 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
[nanni@localhost ~]$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : AuthenticAMD
cpu family      : 15
model           : 75
model name      : AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4200+
stepping        : 2
microcode       : 0x62
cpu MHz         : 2200.000
cache size      : 512 KB
physical id     : 0
siblings        : 2
core id         : 0
cpu cores       : 2
apicid          : 0
initial apicid  : 0
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 1
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow rep_good nopl extd_apicid pni cx16 lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy
bogomips        : 4421.26
TLB size        : 1024 4K pages
clflush size    : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes   : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts fid vid ttp tm stc

processor       : 1
vendor_id       : AuthenticAMD
cpu family      : 15
model           : 75
model name      : AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4200+
stepping        : 2
microcode       : 0x62
cpu MHz         : 2200.000
cache size      : 512 KB
physical id     : 0
siblings        : 2
core id         : 1
cpu cores       : 2
apicid          : 1
initial apicid  : 1
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 1
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow rep_good nopl extd_apicid pni cx16 lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy
bogomips        : 4420.86
TLB size        : 1024 4K pages
clflush size    : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes   : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts fid vid ttp tm stc
with kernel 3.4.x, above my output
microcode_amd*.bin filkes are in /lib/firmware/amd-ucode/
no news from dsmesg
I don't understand anything
2010.2 x86_64 athlon 64x2 4200+ ram 4G nvidia 6200 256M

Post Reply