2012.1 switch nvidia to nouveau = no gui

About ROSA Desktop distribution and help to users
Post Reply
User avatar
rolf
Utente
Utente
Posts: 112
Joined: 20 May 2009, 3:15
ROSA: R3 2012.1 x86_64
OpenMandriva: OMV 2014.0 x86_64
Kernel: 3.13.11-nrjQL-realti
Desktop: KDE 4.13.2
country: USA

2012.1 switch nvidia to nouveau = no gui

Post by rolf »

Howdy.

Some info about the machine:
show spoiler»
$ inxi -v4 -c6
System: Host: localhost.localdomain Kernel: 3.10.9-nrj-desktop-1rosa x86_64 (64 bit, gcc: 4.7.3)
Desktop: KDE 4.10.5 (Qt 4.8.5) Distro: RosaDesktop.Fresh 2012.1 belka
Machine: Mobo: ASUSTeK model: P8Z68 DELUXE/GEN3 version: Rev 1.xx Bios: American Megatrends version: 3304 date: 04/17/2012
CPU: Quad core Intel Core i7-2600K CPU (-HT-MCP-) cache: 8192 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 28018.4
Clock Speeds: 1: 1600.00 MHz 2: 1600.00 MHz 3: 1600.00 MHz 4: 1600.00 MHz 5: 1600.00 MHz 6: 1600.00 MHz 7: 1600.00 MHz 8: 1600.00 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF100 [GeForce GTX 470] bus-ID: 01:00.0 X.Org: 1.13.4 driver: nvidia Resolution: 1280x800@59.9hz
GLX Renderer: GeForce GTX 470/PCIe/SSE2 GLX Version: 4.3.0 NVIDIA 325.15 Direct Rendering: Yes
Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
driver: r8169 ver: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 8000 bus-ID: 10:00.0
IF: eth0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: c8:60:00:08:cd:60
Card-2: Intel 82579V Gigabit Network Connection driver: e1000e ver: 2.3.2-k port: f080 bus-ID: 00:19.0
IF: eth1 state: down mac: 88:88:88:88:87:88
Drives: HDD Total Size: 6123.1GB (47.5% used) 1: id: /dev/sdb model: WDC_WD1001FALS size: 1000.2GB
2: id: /dev/sdc model: Hitachi_HDS72202 size: 2000.4GB 3: id: /dev/sda model: OCZ size: 60.0GB
4: id: /dev/sdd model: ST31000528AS size: 1000.2GB 5: id: /dev/sde model: OCZ size: 61.9GB
6: id: /dev/sdf model: ST2000DM001 size: 2000.4GB
Partition: ID: / size: 27G used: 9.3G (35%) fs: reiserfs ID: /home size: 928G used: 852G (92%) fs: reiserfs
ID: swap-1 size: 1.07GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap ID: swap-2 size: 4.19GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
Info: Processes: 234 Uptime: 1:30 Memory: 2466.9/15948.1MB Runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 4.7.3
Client: Shell (bash 4.2.37) inxi: 1.9.14[/spoiler]

I attempted to change from the proprietary nvidia driver from dkms-nvidia-current to the nouveau driver. First, I tried the steps here:
http://lwn.net/Articles/368565/
Alternatively, you can do it manually by installing
x11-driver-video-nouveau, setting Driver to "nouveau" in
/etc/X11/xorg.conf, and then running these two commands:
update-alternatives --set gl_conf /etc/ld.so.conf.d/GL/standard.conf
ldconfig -X
Then reboot
At first, there was no X and I could see a problem in Xorg.0.log that drm was not running. I have answered that by putting nouveau in /etc/modprobe.preload

That causes a boot up to the cursor on black screen with waiting spin for a second, then it looks like a crash of video. The monitor acts like there is no video input. After a bit, I hear the startup sound. Keyboard works and I can get a vt at Ctrl-Alt-F3 (not -F1 or -F2). Here, I can see in Xorg.0.log that nouveau loads and the log just ends. At this time, I try to rebuild initrds, thinking it might be fixed that way, but that errors, also: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/128 ... d_no-x.jpg

Image


There is another problem in the messages when I run update-grub2, which I've done many times, but the message seems new, something about a corrupt xfs. Those partitions, sdb4 and sdf3, are extended partitions: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/128 ... orrupt.jpg


Image

Thanks.

User avatar
NicCo
Amministratore
Amministratore
Posts: 4739
Joined: 6 December 2007, 19:54

Re: 2012.1 switch nvidia to nouveau = no gui

Post by NicCo »

Hey mate, we have the same problems
(nvidia/nuveau switch with no gui & on wrong xfs warning errors on ext4 partitions...)

bye
.
--- Professional experience ---
Kernel designer, engineer, maintainer and tester for ROSA Desktop and OpenMandriva Lx O.S.

--- currently I'm playing with ---
LTS Kernels > Linux 4.1.12-nrjQL <<< Linux 3.18.17-nrjQL <<< Linux 3.14.46-nrjQL
EOL Kernels > Linux 3.19.8-nrjQL <<< Linux 3.17.8-nrjQL <<< Linux 3.15.10-nrjQL

User avatar
rolf
Utente
Utente
Posts: 112
Joined: 20 May 2009, 3:15
ROSA: R3 2012.1 x86_64
OpenMandriva: OMV 2014.0 x86_64
Kernel: 3.13.11-nrjQL-realti
Desktop: KDE 4.13.2
country: USA

Re: 2012.1 switch nvidia to nouveau = no gui

Post by rolf »

Crikey! I'm all reiserfs, over here. One detail I hesitated to mention is that Rosa is on sda2 of a 60G ssd. They are not fully reliability tested, afaics, and I thought maybe something like "bit rot" could be a factor. I didn't want to prejudice analysis with that speculation. Your similar symptoms might suggest it's something else... :)

User avatar
NicCo
Amministratore
Amministratore
Posts: 4739
Joined: 6 December 2007, 19:54

Re: 2012.1 switch nvidia to nouveau = no gui

Post by NicCo »

Please, Rolf,
can you send the feedback about the two issues (1>nvidia/nuveau switch problem 2>wrong XFS_FS errors) into the ROSA BugZilla?



thanks
bye, NicCo
.
--- Professional experience ---
Kernel designer, engineer, maintainer and tester for ROSA Desktop and OpenMandriva Lx O.S.

--- currently I'm playing with ---
LTS Kernels > Linux 4.1.12-nrjQL <<< Linux 3.18.17-nrjQL <<< Linux 3.14.46-nrjQL
EOL Kernels > Linux 3.19.8-nrjQL <<< Linux 3.17.8-nrjQL <<< Linux 3.15.10-nrjQL

User avatar
rolf
Utente
Utente
Posts: 112
Joined: 20 May 2009, 3:15
ROSA: R3 2012.1 x86_64
OpenMandriva: OMV 2014.0 x86_64
Kernel: 3.13.11-nrjQL-realti
Desktop: KDE 4.13.2
country: USA

Re: 2012.1 switch nvidia to nouveau = no gui

Post by rolf »

NicCo wrote:Please, Rolf,
can you send the feedback about the two issues (1>nvidia/nuveau switch problem 2>wrong XFS_FS errors) into the ROSA BugZilla?



thanks
bye, NicCo
Yes, as soon as I overcome my brand new challenge! ;)

User avatar
rolf
Utente
Utente
Posts: 112
Joined: 20 May 2009, 3:15
ROSA: R3 2012.1 x86_64
OpenMandriva: OMV 2014.0 x86_64
Kernel: 3.13.11-nrjQL-realti
Desktop: KDE 4.13.2
country: USA

Re: 2012.1 switch nvidia to nouveau = no gui

Post by rolf »

http://bugs.rosalinux.ru/show_bug.cgi?id=2982 That's about grub2. I need a nap :!:

Post Reply