Best version of ROSA for Plasma 5?

About ROSA Desktop distribution and help to users
Post Reply
User avatar
benbullard79
Utente junior
Utente junior
Posts: 73
Joined: 8 April 2012, 19:52
ROSA: None
OpenMandriva: 2014.2, Cooker
Kernel: 4.1.12-nrjQL
Desktop: KDE4,Plasma5
country: US
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

Best version of ROSA for Plasma 5?

Post by benbullard79 »

AS title says what is best version of ROSA with Plasma 5 desktop?
Thanks,
Ben
aka: ben79

User avatar
NicCo
Amministratore
Amministratore
Posts: 4740
Joined: 6 December 2007, 19:54

Re: Best version of ROSA for Plasma 5?

Post by NicCo »

Just a moment I can suggest you the ISO of R6 with Plasma 5 (unofficial)

searching... found.., , I've copied a sentence of Pulfer from ROSA Forum:
Pulfer wrote:Only unofficial Plasma 5 ISOs until Fall 2016 (when we switch from rosa2014.1 to rosa2016.1). Until that KDE 4 will be the main ROSA's DE.

Unofficial Plasma 5 ISOs can be downloaded from:
https://abf.rosalinux.ru/platforms/rosa ... oducts/137

Plasma 5 is not complete yet (no RocketBar port etc).
.
--- Professional experience ---
Kernel designer, engineer, maintainer and tester for ROSA Desktop and OpenMandriva Lx O.S.

--- currently I'm playing with ---
LTS Kernels > Linux 4.1.12-nrjQL <<< Linux 3.18.17-nrjQL <<< Linux 3.14.46-nrjQL
EOL Kernels > Linux 3.19.8-nrjQL <<< Linux 3.17.8-nrjQL <<< Linux 3.15.10-nrjQL

User avatar
benbullard79
Utente junior
Utente junior
Posts: 73
Joined: 8 April 2012, 19:52
ROSA: None
OpenMandriva: 2014.2, Cooker
Kernel: 4.1.12-nrjQL
Desktop: KDE4,Plasma5
country: US
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

Re: Best version of ROSA for Plasma 5?

Post by benbullard79 »

Thanks, I'm having a difficult time getting everything on my to do list done but this is on it. To try this .iso I mean.
Thanks,
Ben
aka: ben79

User avatar
bvbfan
Utente junior
Utente junior
Posts: 28
Joined: 21 May 2012, 21:16
ROSA: 2014.1
OpenMandriva: -
Kernel: 3.17.x
Desktop: KDE 4.14.3
country: Bulgaria

Re: Best version of ROSA for Plasma 5?

Post by bvbfan »

You can install any official iso and update to R6 then you can install plasma 5. But you must do it without login in KDE4 session, cause kdm will be removed. On login screen ctrl+alt+f2 to log in /dev/tty2 and then:

Code: Select all

urpmi --auto-update
urpme task-kde4
urpmi task-plasma5
systemctl enable sddm.service
I use plasma 5.3.2, it can use regulary with no issues.

Post Reply